Join us for New London Day 2016 on October 15th!

Published by Friends of New London on

Join the Friends of New London for their annual New London Day in the historic village of New London. Explore what remains of this once vibrant colonial village and hear about the exciting plans to preserve it for future generations.

Check this event page often as exhibitors and other activities will be updated. See directions at the bottom of this page.

* Liberty University History Department recently acquired the historic colonial Mead’s Tavern (594 Alum Springs Rd) and will have it open for interpretive tours by students in period attire

* Artifact display of items found during archaeological excavations in the Mead’s Tavern lot

* Several other historic buildings will be open for tours

* Antique car show

* Live music

* Free cider and popcorn

* Special free tour of the Callaway-Steptoe Cemetery at 3:30

* Virginia Canals & Navigations Society exhibit.

New London was established in 1754 as the first county seat of Bedford County and as the seat of Russell Parish. Located at the crossroads of connections to the Great Wagon Road and the Wilderness Road, its stores, shops, and mills supplied the local community and many pioneers. The Bedford County Courthouse was located on the lot adjacent to Mead’s Tavern and the colonial militia mustered close by. By 1775 an arsenal at New London village produced gunpowder, cartridges, and accoutrements for patriot soldiers. This grew to become a Continental arsenal with musket repair shops and production of artillery shells supplying forces in Virginia, North Carolina, and South Carolina.The arsenal remained in use until at least 1814. New London Academy was chartered in 1795 to educate young men. Roland Academy was established in the former Mead’s Tavern as a boarding school for young females and operated 1810 until the late 1820s. By the 1870s New London had become a resort community with many visitors to its Bedford Alum Springs hotel.

Directions: From Lynchburg, via US 460 West, just past the junction with Timberlake Road, turn left onto Wildwood Road at the stoplight, then turn right onto Alum Springs Road. Mead’s Tavern is at the intersection of Alum Springs Rd. and Town Fork Rd. Watch for the Parking signs. From Bedford, via 460 East, pass New London Academy, enter Campbell Co., then turn right onto Turkey Foot Rd. then left onto Alum Springs Rd. For further information, please call Reve Carwile, Jr. (434) 907 – 5396


Leave a Reply

Avatar placeholder